top of page
  • Writer's picturethe graveyard zine

Shine Upon Me

by: Brianna Paulino


See those lights gleaming my way?

Glowing galore, my God, I want it every day

It shines upon them for now

But soon, it will dazzle upon me

Once everybody knows my name.


Blind me with the spotlight above!

Make me and only me, familiar

Warm me with the light

That must follow me

Make me, oh so lovable.


Let them cheer my name.

Let the lights scream my name

Let them want my light

My life won’t be the same

If everybody knows my name.


Broadway Beauty, Musical Muse!

It’s me, that’s no news

Frontpage, making headlines

On radios, in cinemas

My world alight every day

Everybody knows my name.


Don’t hide away, can’t hide away–

All eyes pierce me, light chasing me

All ears open, twisting all I say

They spurt at me

Screaming, yelling, shouting phrases

Phrases I’m afraid to repeat.


The camera spots me!

They watch my wary moves

The dazzle blinds me

They follow me as if I have nothing to lose

Is this the life I chose?


I don’t understand how this came to be

They tell me it happens to all

In the Spotlight

The lights have blinded them

No way to see.


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Daddy

bottom of page