top of page
  • Writer's picturethe graveyard zine

Truly Poetic

by: Saptarshi Bhowmick


There I wrote a line,

"A splendid Casanova in sinister hues,

Paints my life with unruly beaus".

And I feel_

Ah! What a poetic start I found today.

Nothing so sublime to find a perfect start

at your very first attempt.

My creativity isn't answering positively,

recently,

so when these lines came up in my mind,

I forget that I was actually enjoying my meal,

on a vacant weekend, beneath customary stairs.

I run to my desk, drenched in sunlight

and wrote the finalized lines on a tissue paper.

In my mind I sort out a resolution

to finish this poem before my wife

Turns up, with the children, in the corridor.

Like that I used to sketch a scenario which isn't possible I know.


Suddenly, when I was about to write a concluding couplet,

my door bell rings.

I rushed through the corridor with irritation

and magnified malice, towards my faith that

Forever scorns at me.

In a meanest possible way, I cursed it

for hampering my creative impulse.

But I had to open the door;

There will stand an operator, reminding me

of my unpaid dues, left to be paid this month.

I shrug him of somehow with excuses, like I do.

There the piles of bills beside my desk,

Where I think up poems with unreal circumstances;

and I retired again in my predicament to write;

One line, two line, decoder echoes, thoughts shift

and finally I have created a satisfactory poetry.

I left my desk with my aching back,

Turns to my refrigerator and bring out the refreshments.

And at that moment, my wife appeared

in the corridor, exasperated, saying the school bus had a terrible accident.

So, there for me, my life becomes unusually poetic,

in a sense that my pretended lines never shall be.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Daddy

bottom of page