top of page
  • Writer's picturethe graveyard zine

Interview with Jimena Yengle

Last July 28, two of our founders (Melle and Skye) interviewed Jimena Yengle for an artist feature. It will be featured on our first issue titled "The Great Escapism" and will be out on September 13! Here is a sneak peak to our interview. Enjoy <3


 

Melle: Why don’t you introduce yourself. We are really honored to interview you for the Artist Feature and get to know you more.

Jimena: My name is Jimena Yengle. I’m 19 years old and I’m Peruvian. I dedicate myself to the arts because that’s what I’m passionate about in my life. For me, art is the way I color human experience and I am so grateful to be here [to talk about that].


Skye: Do you have any movie recommendations?

Jimena: My favorite movie is Dead Poets Society. I love that movie. Neil is one of the favorite movie characters of all time.


Skye: How about book recommendations?

Find out in our first issue


Skye: How about some music recommendations?

Find out in our first issue


Melle: I’ve been checking your Instagram and you are a pretty busy woman. I am curious, what are the things you are working on right now?

Jimena: I’ve been working on my second book, writing my first original song, and translating my first book into English. Yes, I am so busy but I am happy about this because great things are coming. I am excited to share all these things to everybody.


Skye: About your [first] book, what were your experiences writing it? And how did you start writing it?

Jimena: I started writing when I was 5 years old. I started with poetry and short stories about love and these types of things. Then I started painting and took a break in writing. But I recently published my first book a few months ago. It is called “Roma Enamorada” and it is about human experience and about daily [lives]. I hope to spread the message of diversity, innocence, and creativity in my book.


Skye: You did mention your second book and I was wondering how that is going?

Jimena: Good! I started writing it two weeks ago. I am trying to preserve the essence of the first book in a different way.

Skye: Could you give us a little sneak peak on what it will be about?

Find out in our first issue


Melle: I saw that you have experiences in acting, how did you get started?

Find out in our first issue


Skye: You talked about your short movie and I was wondering what the experience was like? How does it feel knowing your dreams have come true?

Find out in our first issue


Skye: Since you are an artist, writer, actress, etc. Is there anybody you look up to [as a role model] in those fields?

Jimena: I think I really like Slyvia Plath’s works and it is one of my favorites. So I guess it would be Slyvia Plath.


Melle: I really want to know, what do you want to say to the youth who want to start pursuing the arts?

Jimena: I think the best thing a young artist can do is to be transparent and vulnerable to your feelings. Don’t pretend, just show it with your confidence and your heart. Always be confident. The only person who really knows your art is you. If you know it's good and you trust yourself, everything will work. Trust is a very important part of art and growing as an artist. It has helped me in the past month and year.


Skye: Since our zine is called The Graveyard Zine, this is rather important for me to ask. Who is your favorite dead artist?

Find out in our first issue


 

About Jimena:

My name is Jimena Sofia Ramos Yengle. I am Peruvian and I was born on December 14, 2001, so I am 19 years old. Since I was little I have dedicated myself to art. I started painting at 4 years old and at 6 I exhibited my first work publicly. From the age of 12 I began to dedicate myself to music. At the age of 14 I published my blog "Magical Manuscripts" in which I address different topics related to the human experience, part of my personal brand "Magical Maneuvers". At the age of 19 I published my first book, a romantic novel called "Roma Enamorada" which is available on Amazon. I also have an active YouTube channel where I upload content related to cultural events, interviews, covers and original songs. I am currently pursuing two professional careers "Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation" and "Psychology." In addition, I am in an Actoral Training school, studying Performing Arts.








27 views0 comments
bottom of page