top of page
  • Writer's picturethe graveyard zine

A Worker at 12

by: Saptarshi Bhowmick


It was my 12th day,

and the clock strikes twelve

when a sudden shrill ran down my spine.

Leaving my bed I ventured through the corridor,

a vestibule long enough to foreshadow a living soul.

Like a hollow men of Elliot’s pen,

not alike but be in literal sense,

I moved on.

Each cabin on my left was silent

as the wall to my right prefers to stay.

Without knowing the inhabitants of those cabins

no one can guess what world they belonged to,

and what story they represent.

Only silence is the sound of their life,

stayed echoingly, to remind us that

once all of them lived on this dead soil.


Today might be they went under

but the soil was lovelier than before.

Like a mother lulling her child after a long period.

It gives me peace;

Knowing not when I became so familiar,

with death and its fear.

That today the morgue and the churchyard

felt so soothing,

and I can finally accept my job

as an Undertaker.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Daddy

bottom of page